Lorelee's Library Looking Glass

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Lan

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2006 5:36 pm
PostPost subject: Lorelee's Library Looking Glass

Hello

I'm a public librarian who has come to puppetools for help with classroom visits--I do not like most forms of class discipline I have experienced, but have not the training nor experience to develop improvements upon them.
My mandate is to inspire joy in literature, but as I am mostly working in inner city schools, this translates into attention to story as a first step.

My first experience with using puppetools was pretty interesting for me. I used the basic papertalker structure with just two eyes and a tongue to make Frog and Toad, who then read their parts in Lobel's "Cookies". It was awkward to hold the book with them, but when they fumbled with turning the pages and became impatient with each other, the kindergarten kids seemed to really engage. When I handed out similar frogs to everyone afterwards, however, utter chaos broke loose as they all hopped around nipping each other and carrying on. It seemed I had allowed the joy thing, but that it could only be destructive because I was unable to uncover a structure for the group experience--what good could come of unrelieved pandemonium? I tried to get enough quiet to allow everyone to introduce their frogs to the class, but I was hopeless at the task of order. Then the teacher, whose discipline style I thought I particularly disliked, sounded like a great clear bell: "Frogs on head!" Frogs jump three times! etc., and uplifted us all to a form of Simon Says that brought everyone to calm without a single threat or sharp tone. Basic thinking for teachers, probably, but eureka to me.