workshop in hospital, modena italy

View previous topic :: View next topic  
sandroun

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:41 am
PostPost subject: workshop in hospital, modena italy

Hi there. I'm moreno pigoni i'm a professional puppeteer in italy qnad now we are organizing a workshop in the local hopital. it's a particular workshop because is direct to the children of oncology, so some of them cannot move from the bed, others are in the hospital from such a long time. The workshop have the aim to give them some 'normal' lifetime spendin their time havin fun and making puppet to play in a final show. I'm looking for soomeone who is doing a similar project. this, above all, to share impression, strategy, and experience.
Write me please
My best
Moreno Pigoni
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
papertalker
Site Admin

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 5:20 pm
PostPost subject: Hospital Workshop

Thanks so much for your question.

First: the setting is on or near a bed. This means that the puppets will either be used in the hands of the children themselves or in the hands of 'puppeteers' near the bed--or both. The puppets can appear at the foot of the bed (instant theater) or simply visible in the hand. A simple screen (room divider) may also be erected to serve as a theater.

Second: the process. A theater is cumbersome and impractical, though possible, providing thought is given to the requirements of the setting. But by themselves the puppets are strong enough to perform without a stage. Puppets can appear from behind or at the doorway, and move closer to the bed as they ask questions, present problems, talk casually about the weather, a TV show that children may watch and be familiar with, tell a joke, engage in word-play, or invite children to play a game.