Scaling the Education Monolith

View previous topic :: View next topic  
papertalker
Site Admin

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 5:27 pm
PostPost subject: Scaling the Education Monolith

I have been teaching teachers for more than thirty years on and off. I am not the most popular teacher educator on the circuit—I teach teachers how to be more like the kids they teach. I do this by showing them that playful communication—sparked by the use of ‘puppet language’—can make them very effective in reaching and motivating kids.

This is not an easy-sell. In a teach-and-test learning culture there is no room for such flight of fancy creativity. Teachers are curious about using puppets, but for a multitude of reasons they are not eager to pick one up to ‘sugar-coat’ a lesson in their classroom.

Their bosses would frown on it. Parents would raise their eyebrows, and many are just unwilling to risk their persona of authority.

In all shape and form, play has been banned from school. Historically, it never had much of a chance anyway. In a culture where control over teacher and child is paramount, play is a threat to the controller and to the self-censor. Hovering around teachers and children, the self-censor helps to keep the controller in control. In the learning culture, the least imaginative and self-expressive are in control of the most imaginative and self-expressive. Education in the Land of the Free has become a social-psychological prison posing as the certified place of learning and academics.

If you’re a teacher who is big enough to agree with that view, you’ll probably want to keep reading.

Of course, only idealistic fools seriously pursue change.